Sunday, June 13, 2010

Thanks Vintage + Goodness!

Guess what I just won on Ebay!

I meant to bid more on the Vintage Metal Wall Wax Paper Towel Holder Dispenser she listed (fantastic!), but I just plumb forgot!

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Tried out my first Freddie's of Pinewood!

Yesterday's outfit:



Cute, but it could definitely use some improvement (and better lighting). But hey, it was on sale! On the plus side, I figured out that in this style I'm skinnier than I thought; on the down side, that difference turns an hourglass into a box:


The funny part is, apparently me being a bigger gal (size 12-14 US probably) also apparently means I'm a giantess! Alterations like woah:



They were amazingly comfortable so I'm bound to order more closer to my size. The other half of my order, however, serves it's own embarassing post tomorrow.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Loot from New Orleans

The fella and I just went on our first big trip ever, after dating for over 4 years. It was sticky and gross, but he indulged me and took my to Trashy Diva! I got some great finds.
We also went to the amazing WWII museum. Also got great finds:

Mama needs a Hotrod




I recently had a very surprising windfall and with it the burning desire for a classic to start kustomizing myself. I just figure that once I have kids I'll never be able to justify making such a large indulgent purchase ever again. Once derby is in the offseason, I'm seriously considering apprenticing to one of the local ladies klubs to learn what I can. Fingers crossed!

This 1950 Chevy Deluxe Classic needs a new engine, but otherwise it's in great shape for just $5,000.


And man, oh man. This 1953 Chevy Belair needs some new paint, but it's slipping $3,500!


And seriously, I've been drooling over this 1953 Ford Customline for over a month. I'm still having trouble justifying the thought of spending $5,800.

What's a gal to do?!

New shoes!


Thanks to Andi B Goode, these puppies are coming in the mail tomorrow, woot!

Bless you Payless!

Oh, and a disclaimer

Right up front I'll say that I'm not a vintage purist- neither my lifestyle nor my wallet allow for it. Nor for that matter do limited sewing skills or my rack. It's very difficult to find legit vintage that fits my chest. And one more excuse- I get up way to early to plan intricate hair for my job- at least so far. One of these days I'll regularly do my pinups and ragcurls before I pass out.

So to be honest, my style is closer to psychobilly that purist. As a Texas derby girl, my lifestyle (workouts, manual labor, ranches, home remodeling) require more tshirts and jeans than, say, Fleur de Guerre ;)

I'm still learning and trying though!

Just starting out on Blogger


Hiyas.
I was independently following so many wonderful vintage gals just through my bookmarks and decided to condense them all into a Blogger account since that seems to be y'all's chosen platform. I'm a Tumblr myself and am working on moving some posts over. I finally have the time, freedom, and motivation to start expanding my vintage (and repro) wardrobe and music collection and have found such great inspiration amongst the people I follow here. My Tumblr is largely about film and roller derby, with only the occasional vintage kick, so we'll see how this goes eh?